If you don't control your mind, someone else will…

The Paradox of Discipline and Freedom

“Discipline is the surest means to greater freedom and independence; it provides the focus to achieve the skill level and depth of knowledge that translates into more options in life.” Dan Millman

“Some people regard discipline as a chore. For me, it is a kind of order that sets me free to fly.” Julie Andrews

Discipline has never been my forte. I have never done well with boundaries and rules–especially the kind of rules that do not make any sense. Such as the rule “do not eat meat on Fridays.” I want the freedom to do what I want on my own terms.

With age, comes wisdom—hopefully. And I have learned that discipline is actually the key to freedom and independence. Anyone who values freedom often tends to resist routine or repetitive tasks. Discipline may appear as being the opposite of freedom and feels as though we are being controlled. While freedom implies a lack of boundaries, no restrictions and being free to act spontaneously.

Certain laws in the Universe exists: The Law of Attraction. The Law of Polarity. The Law of Gravity. The Law of Discipline, etc. These laws have existed long before humanity and govern our lives whether we are aware of them or not. They cannot be altered, only mastered. They humble and inspire us to find order in our lives so that we may excel and succeed. 

Jesus, Muhammad, Buddha, Lao-tzu and other enlightened teachers have tried to teach us the Universal Laws with the use of parables and metaphors. Their stories were intended to help us align our lives—our habits of diet, exercise, work and sexuality—with spiritual laws so that we could easily flow through our life challenges without struggle, with arms wide open, like peaceful warriors embracing each moment, ready to dance.

The Law of Discipline appears as a paradox. On the one hand, discipline appears to constrain us while freedom feels like the ultimate experience. Even though freedom is our birthright, it must be earned in this world. Discipline holds the key to experiencing true freedom. And there is both inner freedom and outer freedom.

Inner freedom may be the most powerful freedom of all. Do you ever feel stuck with obsessive thoughts about desires, stress, fear, lack, worries, self-doubt, etc.? These types of obsessive thoughts can make us feel like a prisoner of our own mind. The discipline of meditation, Emotional Freedom Technique, the Sedona Method and other introspective practices can help us generate a sense of inner freedom and inner peace because they help us learn to quiet the mind, breaking the loop and chains of obsessive, unhealthy thoughts.

We can reach outer freedom in time with discipline. Being financially secure; feeling physically healthy; enjoying successful relationships; experiencing various vacations and travel options; and having more options in general in life are all a result of consistent discipline.

For example, when I started to attend college I was 28 years old, and lived with my husband and daughter. It was expensive and I knew the only way I could afford it was to get straight As so that I would win financial scholarships. In order to get As I had to study hard. I had to find balance between spending time with my family and studying. It was a lot of hard work and I had to dig down deep to find the discipline, which was not an easy thing for me, in order to get what I wanted, which was financial assistance.

I did receive financial aid that paid for most of my tuition and went on to earn my MBA. All my hard work and discipline paid off even more because after I graduated, I found very lucrative employment. What I gained was even so much more than just financial rewards. Going to college was the best personal experience of my life. I learned so much about myself including the fact that I could be disciplined to work hard in order to accomplish my goals. It provided me with a foundation of strength that I am not sure I would have found anywhere else.

Learning is just about my favorite thing to do. And attending college prepared me to learn how to study and learn on very deep levels. I continue to read books and enjoy mastering complicated subjects such as sacred geometry. I am not sure I could do what I am currently doing had I not learned how to study and learn in college.

That is what consistent discipline does for you. It cannot even truly be measured. You not only reach your goals, but you can succeed to levels you never knew were even possible. Any new obstacle that may arise seems simple to overcome. You become the peaceful warrior and nothing can stop you!

The Law of Discipline reminds us to set priorities and focus on one thing at a time until we get it right. It is about perseverance and being consistent. You do what needs to be done in the moment, and move the other things to the back burner.

Discipline and commitment provide the bridge between here and our goals. If you feel as though discipline is slipping away, turn your focus back to the goal. For example, if you want to lose weight, you may focus on how you look in a certain outfit, or how it will feel to weigh your goal weight, or how good you will feel by eating healthy foods.

You can certainly call in your spirit guides to help you. Also, write down your goal and make a list of all the positive outcomes that are possible. Write down a date that you wish to achieve your goal by. Write down all the steps that are involved with achieving your goal. Think about how you will feel once your goal is achieved. Include as many details about the image as possible. Spend 15 minutes a day or more on working to achieve your goals, even if it only includes reading what you have written down.

Think of your goal as a bright beacon of light that will shine brightly enough for you to see the light. This bright light image will help to generate the energy necessary for you to do what you need to do, over time, in order to make your goal a reality. The key to Freedom is Discipline. That is the Universal Law of Discipline.

Leave a Reply

