If you don't control your mind, someone else will…

Emotional Healing with Mother Goose

For the past 20 years or so, I have been fascinated with animal totems, medicine and messages. I love reading about the spiritual meaning behind every animal and the lessons that animals can teach us. Being an avid bird lover, I especially enjoy learning about what it means when I see various birds. Recently I was outside walking and a bunch of squawking geese flew over my head. I decided to look up the meaning, since that was one bird I never really paid much attention to, even though it is so common. I wondered what message it had for me.

The familiar figure of Mother Goose is an imaginary author of a collection of stories, nursery rhymes and fairy tales. According to Ted Andrews, The Goose is a totem reflecting a stimulation of the childhood thrill and belief in stories and legendary places. The stories we most loved in childhood often reflect the life quest we have come to take upon us in this lifetime. Going back and rereading your favorite childhood stories will often help you to understand certain patterns in your life that may need to be worked through or may have messages about what you feel in your soul. These stories may even help you to heal emotional wounds. Often times, emotions can be healed through awareness and acknowledgment.

What are your favorite childhood stories? They could have important messages and meaning for you. Thinking back, my favorite childhood stories were The Giving Tree, The Princess and the Pea and my all-time favorite, Horton Hears a Who. To me, that story is all about having a voice, not judging others, equality, sticking up for the little guy, and caring about habitats and the environment. These all seem to be very important issues for me. One of my biggest issues in life has been all about having a voice and not being afraid to speak my truth whether people like it or not.

Childhood stories can communicate various messages to us. Think back to one of your favorites and consider what it means to you. I would love to hear about what you discover, so please do share at HealingWithSavannah@gmail.com

And if you want to have a tarot reading with animal medicine cards, please contact me and we can discuss the details. It only costs $20 and it can provide some fun and interesting insight to your life challenges and purpose.  If you have a favorite animal or bird, it has a message for you for sure!

Here are a some quotes from Horton Hears a Who that I like:

Horton: I meant what I said, and I said what I meant.
Morton: [sighs] An elephant’s faithful one hundred percent.
Horton: That’s my code, my motto.

Narrator: [epilogue] And so, all ended well for both Horton and Who’s, and for all in the jungle, even kangaroos. So let that be a lesson to one and to all; a person is a person, no matter how small.

Leave a Reply

